West Central Municipal Conference

Welcome to WCMC!


In 1980, the West Central Municipal Conference was founded as a regional council of governments (COG) serving the communities of west suburban Cook County. The membership roster then consisted of 15 municipalities, as the organization patterned itself after other COGs in existence throughout the Chicago metropolitan area.

The WCMC membership today totals over 51 entities, which includes 40 municipalities, 5 townships, 2 community colleges, Brookfield Zoo, and over 600,000 residents. These communities are wholly located in Cook County or contiguous thereto.  The WCMC region is over  200 square miles is characterized as the mature "inner ring" of suburbs uniquely situated between the City of Chicago and collar counties surrounding Cook; excepting bordering DuPage communities on the western boundary of Cook County.

© 2020 Westcook.org